Monday, January 13, 2020

Developing nursing standards of practice Essay

These are the process for the developing nursing standards of practice Standard 1: Assessment: The registered nurse collects comprehensive data about patient’s health. Standard 2: Diagnoses: The registered nurses analyze the assessment data to determine the diagnoses or the issues. Standard 3: Outcome identification: The registered nurse identifies the expected outcomes for the patient’s plan of care. Standard 4: Planning: The registered nurse develops the plan that authorizes strategies and a way to obtain the outcomes. Standard 5: Implementation: The registered nurse implements the identified plan. Standard 5A: Coordination of care: The registered nurse coordinates care delivery. Standard 5C: Consultation: The registered nurse provide consultation to control the identified plan and effect change. Standard 5D: Prescriptive authority and power: The registered nurse uses rigid authority, procedures, treatments, and therapy in accordance with state an federal laws and regulations. Standard 6: Evaluation: The registered nurse evaluates progress towards fulfillment of outcomes. Different entities that might be involved in developing the standard practice. American Nurses Association members are the first link in developing sources (American Nurses Association, 2014). The Department of Health Scope of Practice might be involved in the development of standards (â€Å"Scope of Practice,† 2014). State boards of nursing develop standards of  care at the state level and enforce those standards. The American Nurse Credentialing Center (ANCC) work on the national level. Professional specialty nursing organizations, Educational institution, state boards of nursing and other government agencies develop standards of care. The American nurses Association and the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organization (JACHO) recognized standards of care. Federal and state laws, rules and regulation and other professional agencies/organizations help define standards of practice. The ANA and Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organization (JCAHO) established nationally recognized standards of care. References American Nurses Association: Professional Standards (2014). Retrieved from http://nursingworld.ord/nursingstandards Scope of practice decision tree (2011). Retrieved from

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.